So I promised a post on what it actually is that I’ll be doing for the next few months. And I might as well apologise from the beginning because it’s going to be kind of a vague post since I don’t know that much yet.

Turtle

I’m heading to Koh Tao which is an island in the Gulf of Thailand with an approximte size of 21 km². It’s known as one of the most popular places to dive especially among backpackers. Below you can see that it’s close to Koh Samui and Koh Phangan (the one with all the full moon parties). Koh Tao means “Turtle Island” so for me who loves turtles it should be perfect!

 

Map borrowed from www.accommodationkohtao.com

Map borrowed from www.accommodationkohtao.com

My plan is to become a Divemaster which is the first step on the professional ladder of PADI (Professional Association of Diving Instructors). It’s basically an underwater guide meaning that as a Divemaster you can lead dives and you can assist instructors when they’re doing different courses. I’ll be doing my divemaster course with Buddha View Diving Resort which is one of the biggest dive centers on Koh Tao.

At the moment I’ve only got my Advanced Open Water certificate so I’ll start on my EFR and Rescue Diver courses as soon as I get to Koh Tao. After that I’ll officially begin as a Divemaster Trainee (DMT). How a divemaster internship works depend on where you’re doing it but the basic demands are of course the same no matter where you are. Among other stuff I’ll have to learn a lot of theory and how to demonstrate some underwater skills. Then it’s required to lead a number of dives and to assist an instructor on a number of dives. At Buddha View there are around 15 DMTs all the time (well that’s what I’ve been told) so it will definitely be different from what I’ve been used to in Sri Lanka.

I’m leaving Denmark on 10th June and arriving in Bangkok the next morning. After spending a day in Bangkok I’ll head down to Koh Tao with arrival on the morning on 12th June. I have almost two full months on Koh Tao before heading back to Europe on 9th August. On my way home I’ll do a bit of a detour since I’ll be visiting my parents in France for 10 days before hitting Denmark on 19th August.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>